TutorFind: Professional One On One Tutoring Services Washington DC Tutor SAT Test Prep Math Reading Algebra.
One on One Trusted Affordable Tutors Since 1993!

FrescoDesigns.com

For assistance finding the right tutor for you, call 1-800-64-TUTOR and connect to a TutorFind Education Counselor now!

One on One Trusted Affordable Tutors Since 1993!

Return to Results

Personal Information | Tutor Details | Experience | View All/Print

Information for: Christopher, Tutor ID:19696 Schedule work with this tutor

Name: Christopher
Tutor ID: 19696

Personal Information

Gender: Male
Description: I utilize an informal style of tutoring, allowing the student to work through their difficulties while lending a helping hand along the way. I try to gently guide the student to the answer, rather than simply telling them it and then attempting to explain the rationale. I attempt to create a laid-back atmosphere where the student will not feel as if they are being drilled, but rather that they are just working with a friend. I believe this style of tutoring to be most effective when working in subjects of the humanities, like reading, social studies or English. I find tutoring in math and hard sciences to require a more direct and regimented approach.

Tutor Details

Lowest Grade Level: 0
Highest Grade Level: 12

Subjects Taught

  • English-Language Arts K-6
  • English-Literature
  • English-Phonics
  • Social Studies-Government
  • Social Studies-History
  • Social Studies-Geography
  • Science-Middle School
  • Reading
  • Science-Elementary Science
  • Math-Trigonometry
  • Math-Statistics
  • Math-Probability
  • Math-Pre-Calculus
  • Math-Middle School Math
  • Math-Logic
  • Math-Geometry
  • Math-Elementary School Math
  • Math-AP Statistics
  • Math-Algebra 2
  • Math-Algebra 1
  • Homework Help
  • English-Reading Adult
  • English-Writing
  • English-Reading
  • English-Grammar
  • English-English
  • Social Studies-Elem Social Studies
  • Social Studies-Political Science
  • NCLB/SES
Tutor availability: Mon: 6:30 p.m.-end of day Tue: 1:30 p.m.-end of day Thu: 6:30 p.m-end of day Fri: All day Sat: All day Sun: All day

Experience

Education: Degree: BA (expected, May 2010) Major: History Institution: The George Washington University Year: 2010
Current Employment: Putnam County Board of Elections
Current Title:
Current time in position: Summer 2007,

Previous Employment: Capitol District Information
Previous Title: Researcher
Previous time in postion: March 2007-M

Tutoring experience: During the 2008-2009 school year, I tutored once a week at Larkrise Primary School in Oxford, UK. My program was conducted by a student organization, STIR (Students Together to Improve Reading), which works with local primary school students from neighborhoods where they are unlikely to receive much help with reading at home. During this time, I worked with individual students or small groups of students in developing reading comprehension skills. I tutored students in the second and fifth grades. Because I was tutoring at a school, I did not make contacts with the students' parents. Hence, I can only provide the contact information for the school I worked with and the teacher I spent the most time with. When in high school, I was involved in a homework help program at my local library where students would come in after school and receive aid on whatever subjects required. I have provided the contact name of the children's librarian most involved in the coordination of the program.

Thank you for visiting TutorFind: One on One Trusted Affordable Tutors Since 1993! - Come back again soon.